Compare · Head-to-head
Gingr vs. PetExec — and where Vivetra fits
The short answer: Gingr and PetExec are now sister products. PetExec announced in November 2024 that Togetherwork had acquired it, putting it alongside Gingr and Revelation Pets in Togetherwork’s Pet Care Product Group. Of the two, Gingr publishes plan prices for boarding, daycare and grooming. PetExec didn’t show a price list on its site when we checked. Both cover boarding, daycare, grooming and training, with a customer app and an online booking portal.
Every Gingr and PetExec fact below is quoted from the vendor’s own site with a link, checked on the date shown. We make Vivetra Boarding & Grooming, a flat $200/mo alternative built on a real veterinary record, so it gets a column too, along with the places it comes up short.
Gingr vs. PetExec, side by side
Each competitor cell quotes the vendor’s own page, with a “source” link. If a vendor’s page didn’t state something, the cell says so.
| Compared on | Gingr | PetExec | Vivetra (Boarding & Grooming) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published pricing | Stay (boarding) $179/mo billed monthly or $154/mo billed annually, "Pricing shown with active Integrated Payments" ($209/mo, or $179/mo annual, without); Play (daycare) $169/mo or $142/mo; Spa (groomers/trainers) $109/mo or $100/mo; Enterprise (multiple facilities) by quote source for Gingr (opens in new tab) |
no price list on the vendor's homepage; its "Start Your Free Trial" button leads to a "Book a Demo" page hosted on gingrapp.com source for PetExec (opens in new tab) |
$200/mo flat for one service, unlimited staff, managed hosting included. |
| What’s included | every plan includes Mobile App, Integrated Payments, Retail Management, Staff Management, Customer Portal, Business Analytics, Multi-Location Reporting, Gingr PreCheck, Marketing Tools and Automated Notifications; Employee Scheduling and 2-Way SMS (U.S. and Canada) are listed as add-ons source for Gingr (opens in new tab) |
Not stated in the sources we checked. |
Boarding, daycare and grooming with a client portal, online booking, deposits, saved cards, stay updates and grooming report cards. No per-feature add-ons. |
| Services and deployment | "Boarding, daycare, grooming, training, and dog park software in one system" source for Gingr (opens in new tab) |
"Cloud-based, mobile-ready" software for "boarding, daycare, grooming, and training businesses" source for PetExec (opens in new tab) |
Boarding, daycare and grooming, browser-based on a dedicated deployment that is fully managed for you. |
| Client app and portal | its Pet Parent mobile app lets clients "book, pay, update pet records, and message your team"; "Integrated payment processing keeps cards on file, deposits, packages, and tips" source for Gingr (opens in new tab) |
free customer mobile app on Apple and Android to schedule or request services, pay off balances and buy packages; "Monthly fee applies for Packmate customers." source for PetExec (opens in new tab) Owner Portal lets clients book boarding themselves, pay deposits and sign digital contracts before scheduling source for PetExec (opens in new tab) |
Web client portal. Request-and-approve booking by default, with real-time self-booking as an opt-in switch. Vaccine compliance gate and pre-arrival forms. |
| Contract, setup and trial | pricing page states no contract length beyond "flexible options" and says "setup services and data import options may vary"; it offers a demo rather than a listed free trial source for Gingr (opens in new tab) |
Not stated in the sources we checked. |
Month-to-month, no long-term contract. See the published price before you talk to anyone. |
| Ownership and reach | acquired by Togetherwork (announced November 4, 2024), joining Gingr and Revelation Pets in Togetherwork's Pet Care Product Group; the PetExec team "will continue to operate and support PetExec customers" source for PetExec (opens in new tab) |
acquired by Togetherwork (announced November 4, 2024), joining Gingr and Revelation Pets in Togetherwork's Pet Care Product Group; the PetExec team "will continue to operate and support PetExec customers" source for PetExec (opens in new tab) "We love working with Packmates from the USA, Canada, Europe, Australia, New Zealand, and Dubai" source for PetExec (opens in new tab) |
Independent, newer vendor. Sold in the US, Canada, UK, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. |
About this comparison. This is Vivetra’s own comparison — we picked the dimensions and wrote the framing, so read it as an interested party’s argument checked against sourced facts, not a neutral review. Every competitor fact above is quoted from the linked vendor page (or the cited record) and was verified as of October 29, 2026. All product names and trademarks belong to their owners, who are not affiliated with and do not endorse Vivetra. If something here is out of date or wrong, tell us at [email protected] and we correct or remove it within 5 business days. Competitor prices are shown in the vendor’s own currency; only Vivetra’s figure follows the currency selector, and never by conversion.
Which is right for you?
Choose Gingr if…
you want a published price you can budget against today and an all-in-one plan that already includes a mobile app, retail management, staff management and marketing tools. Note that its boarding price assumes you use its integrated payments.
Choose PetExec if…
you’re outside North America and want a vendor that says it works with facilities in Europe, Australia, New Zealand and Dubai, or you’re already a customer. Its own acquisition announcement says the team will keep operating and supporting it.
Consider Vivetra if…
your boarding or grooming business sits next to a veterinary practice, or you want boarded pets’ medications and aftercare on a real medical record. You also get one flat price, $200/mo, however many staff you add.
Same parent company: what that does and doesn’t mean
Because PetExec’s own announcement places it in the same Togetherwork product group as Gingr, “Gingr vs. PetExec” is now a choice between two products from one owner, not two rival companies. What that announcement says, and all it says, is that the PetExec team “will continue to operate and support PetExec customers.” It doesn’t announce a merger of the two products or a shutdown date, so we won’t speculate about one. If long-term product direction matters to you, ask Togetherwork directly and get the answer in writing.
Where Vivetra fits in this matchup
Gingr and PetExec are boarding and daycare products. Vivetra Boarding & Grooming runs on the same patient record as a veterinary practice. A boarded pet on a medication schedule or recovering from surgery is tracked against the same history and current medications the medical side keeps. That’s the reason to look at it. The other reason is price: one flat $200/mo with unlimited staff and managed hosting, instead of a plan per service line. See the Boarding & Grooming service or the full boarding comparison.
Where Vivetra genuinely falls short
- No retail point-of-sale and no training or dog-park scheduling. Gingr’s plans include retail management and cover training and dog parks. Vivetra Boarding & Grooming covers boarding, daycare and grooming only.
- No native mobile app. Both Gingr and PetExec offer a customer mobile app. Vivetra’s client portal is web-based.
- Bring your own Stripe account, plus a platform fee. Online payments run through your facility’s own Stripe account at your own rates, and a small Vivetra platform fee applies on top. If you don’t want Stripe, this part won’t suit you.
- Newer vendor. Vivetra is the newer vendor, and that’s a fair thing to weigh.
Questions about this comparison
Are Gingr and PetExec the same company?
They now share an owner. PetExec’s own announcement, dated November 4, 2024, says Togetherwork acquired PetExec and that it joins Gingr and Revelation Pets in Togetherwork’s Pet Care Product Group. The same announcement says the PetExec team will continue to operate and support PetExec customers.
How much does Gingr cost compared with PetExec?
Gingr publishes its prices: Stay (boarding) $179/mo billed monthly or $154/mo billed annually, "Pricing shown with active Integrated Payments" ($209/mo, or $179/mo annual, without); Play (daycare) $169/mo or $142/mo; Spa (groomers/trainers) $109/mo or $100/mo; Enterprise (multiple facilities) by quote. When we checked, PetExec’s site showed no price list, and its free-trial button led to a demo-booking page, so ask PetExec for a quote.
Does PetExec work outside the US?
PetExec says it works with customers in the USA, Canada, Europe, Australia, New Zealand and Dubai. Gingr’s pricing page lists its two-way SMS add-on for the U.S. and Canada. Vivetra sells in the US, Canada, UK, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand at the same flat number in each currency.
Do Gingr and PetExec have customer apps?
Yes. Gingr says its Pet Parent app lets clients book, pay, update pet records and message your team. PetExec’s customer app on Apple and Android lets clients book, pay balances and buy packages, and PetExec notes a monthly fee applies for Packmate customers. Vivetra’s client portal is web-based, with no native app.
Why would a boarding facility look at Vivetra instead?
Two reasons. First, the medical record: Vivetra Boarding & Grooming sits on a genuine veterinary chart, which matters most if you board for or alongside a vet practice. Second, the price is one flat $200/mo with unlimited staff. The trade-offs are that it’s a newer product, it has no native app, and it has no retail point-of-sale.
See the flat number for your facility
One monthly price, whatever your headcount. Check it in your own currency before you talk to anyone.
More comparisons: Full boarding comparison · UK & Ireland boarding software · Carica Pets alternative · All comparisons