Vivetra vs. the field, in one honest table
Many vendors in this category price per vet (Provet Cloud, HVMS) or publish no price at all (IDEXX Neo, Instinct, Eclipse). Vivetra is flat: $200/mo covers shared-core plus your first service — unlimited doctors, unlimited staff, and fully managed hosting, from day one.
Live now in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand.
About this comparison
This is Vivetra’s own comparison — not a neutral, independent benchmark. We built the table and we’re selling one of the products in it, so read it with that in mind. Every competitor figure below is dated and linked to its source.
Pricing and feature claims verified as of 2026-10-29. If a claim is wrong or out of date, tell us and we’ll fix it: report an inaccuracy. Our policy is to correct disputed claims within 5 business days.
The head-to-head
One row per platform, one of the most-cited names from each of Vivetra’s six services. For the deeper service-by-service breakdowns, jump to the per-service pages below the table.
| Platform | Pricing model | Deployment model | Unlimited staff | Built-in payment processing | Hosting in the quoted price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vivetra — all six services | Flat — $200/mo, 1 service (same number at 3 staff or 30) | Fully managed for you — managed hosting, no server to run | Yes | Yes — through your own connected Stripe account | Yes — managed hosting is in the price |
|
ezyVet source (opens in new tab)
Vet Practice service |
From $260.50/mo (entry); enterprise by quote | Cloud | Not stated | Yes | Yes (cloud SaaS) |
|
Vetspire source (opens in new tab)
Vet Practice service |
Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
|
IDEXX Cornerstone source (opens in new tab)
Vet Practice service “2022 antitrust class action (Yuen et al. v. IDEXX, filed July 25, 2022) alleged long-term exclusive contracts with veterinary practices; allegations, not findings” (disputed legal matter — reported status, not an adverse finding) |
Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
|
Provet Cloud source (opens in new tab)
Vet Practice service |
Per-vet + platform fee | Not stated | No — priced per vet | Not stated | Not stated |
|
Shepherd / Hippo Manager source (opens in new tab)
Vet Practice service “acquired Hippo Manager in March 2025, with no option to stay on Hippo Manager as it was; Shepherd publishes no numeric rate card (publicly reported, not vendor-confirmed)” (reported estimate, not vendor-published) |
No public rate card | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
|
Instinct Science source (opens in new tab)
Hospital service |
No public price | Cloud | Not stated | Yes | Yes (cloud SaaS) |
|
Gingr source (opens in new tab)
Boarding & Grooming service |
Tiered, ~$154–209/mo | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated |
|
Shelterluv source (opens in new tab)
Shelter service |
Per-adoption ($2.00) | Cloud-only | Yes (usage-priced) | Yes | Yes (cloud SaaS) |
|
HVMS source (opens in new tab)
Equine service |
Site license + per-vet + setup fee | Cloud or on-premise | No — priced per vet | Not stated | Not stated |
|
AgriWebb source (opens in new tab)
Livestock service |
Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
The pricing-model, hosting, staff, payment, and hosting-included cells are Vivetra’s good-faith characterisation of each vendor as of 2026-10-29; the linked source backs each competitor’s dated figures. Competitor prices are shown in USD as each vendor publishes them — switching the currency selector only re-symbols Vivetra’s own number, never a competitor’s. Rows marked as a reported estimate or a disputed legal matter are quoted in their exact wording above and should be read with that caveat, not as settled fact. Spot a mistake? Report an inaccuracy — corrected within 5 business days.
Go deeper by service
Each service has its own full comparison, with every competitor named, every claim sourced, and the honest gaps stated plainly.
Shopping from the UK, Ireland, Australia, or New Zealand?
Each service also has a dedicated comparison for those markets, naming the vendors that actually compete there — not a reprint of the US-anchored table above with a different flag on it.
- Vet Practice: UK & Ireland · Australia & New Zealand
- Hospital: UK & Ireland · Australia & New Zealand
- Boarding & Grooming: UK & Ireland · Australia & New Zealand
- Shelter: UK & Ireland · Australia & New Zealand
- Equine: UK & Ireland · Australia & New Zealand
- Livestock: UK & Ireland · Australia & New Zealand
Head-to-head comparisons
Choosing between two specific products? These pages compare them directly, every claim sourced and dated, with Vivetra alongside as a third option and an honest account of where it falls short.
Where Vivetra is the weaker choice — on purpose or not
A comparison you can only lose by hiding. Here are the ones that matter across the whole family:
- Online payments run through your own Stripe account — and there’s a platform fee. Your clients pay bills, estimates, and deposits online, but you connect your own Stripe account to do it: you keep your own Stripe relationship and your own rates, and the money lands in your account, not ours. On top of Stripe’s own rate there’s a small Vivetra platform fee. If you’d rather not use Stripe at all, that part of the product won’t suit you. What each service supports also differs — Vet Practice is full-balance only with no saved cards yet, and Livestock charges cards and sends payment links to farm clients but has no pay button in the producer portal itself.
- We’re newer than the incumbents. Some vendors in this category have shipped for decades — Verifac, for one, since 1978. Vivetra is a newer vendor with a shorter track record — real, and worth weighing against a flat price and unlimited staff.
- Service-specific gaps are stated on each service’s own page. No native mobile app (PWA only), no client self-booking for clinical appointments — boarding and grooming can book themselves in real time if the facility switches that on (request-and-approve, where staff approves every booking, is the default), but a Vet Practice client always requests an appointment and your staff schedules it — and no Petfinder/Adopt-a-Pet syndication for shelters yet. Each one is spelled out where it belongs, not buried.
Want the number for your own headcount?
Pick your services and country and check out in minutes — or ask us to walk through the exact monthly figure first.
Get Started Talk to us firstQuestions about this comparison
Is this an independent, neutral comparison?
No. This is Vivetra's own comparison of Vivetra to other veterinary software — not a neutral third-party benchmark. We've tried to be fair and accurate, every competitor figure is dated and linked to its source, and if we got something wrong we want to know so we can fix it.
How current are the figures in the table?
Every pricing and feature claim was verified as of 2026-10-29. If you spot something out of date or wrong, email [email protected] — our policy is to correct disputed claims within 5 business days.
How do online payments work — do you take a cut?
You connect your own Stripe account, and your clients pay bills, estimates, and deposits online from the client portal. Your practice keeps its own Stripe relationship and its own processing rates, and the money lands in your account, not ours; a small Vivetra platform fee applies on top of Stripe's own rate. What each service supports differs today — Vet Practice takes full-balance payments with no saved cards yet, Boarding & Grooming has saved cards and deposits, and Livestock has no payment feature at all by design — so check the service page you care about. (All of that is unrelated to the checkout you use to pay your own Vivetra subscription.)
Does the flat price really include unlimited staff and hosting?
Yes. Vivetra is fully managed for you: one flat monthly price covers shared-core plus your first service, unlimited doctors and staff, and fully managed hosting — you never touch a server, patch an OS, or run and restore your own nightly backup.
Which countries can I actually buy Vivetra in?
Vivetra is live for self-serve signup in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand. Anywhere else, you can still join our list and we'll reach out as we expand.